Caravan Adventure # 48 Red Hill to the Red Centre – back online

Posted: 07 August 2016 in Australia - travel

I didn’t know I had an addiction until I had to do without any internet connection for weeks – but being back from the desert I got the sweet hit of reading the news, catching up on emails and having the encyclopaedia in my pocket once more.

We have a census to complete, a bronze medal and a Government in Canberra again – I wonder what else happened.

Our journey continued up the Stuart Highway with brief stops at Woomera, Coober Pedy, Marla and Erldunda – brief because we are coming back this way on our big OzTours trip.

Kings Canyon was our last stop before the Alice – and what a natural wonder – the Rim Walk has gotta be one of the best walks in the world – on top of the escarpment there were bee hive domes like the Bungle Bungles and an oasis with large clear pools surrounded by lush trees. These were significant sites for the Aboriginal peoples.

. . . and on to Alice in prep for the trip into the desert. We did take time for a great cycle ride out to Simpsons Gap, a 66km ride, all on sealed track winding through the desert.

There were some pretty tricky gates to get through, I got tangled on the first one.

A sense of expectation then as our tour departure drew near – see next post

Comments are closed.